...EEAS: High Representative Josep Borrell announces senior appointments

Brussels, 02/07/2021 - 14:06, UNIQUE ID: 210702_9

Press releases

High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission, Josep Borrell, announced the following appointments for senior positions in the European External Action Service (EEAS) today:

Belén MARTÍNEZ CARBONELL as Managing Director for Human Rights, Global and Multilateral Issues. She is currently Director of Human Resources in the EEAS. She previously served as Head of the Policy coordination Division.

Kristin DE PEYRON as Director of Human Resources. She is currently Deputy Managing Director for Global Affairs in the EEAS. She was previously Head of the Selection and Recruitment Division and Head of the Human Resources Policy Division.

High Representative/Vice-President Josep Borrell also announced the **appointments of 19 new Heads of Delegations of the European Union**, who will take up their duties as of 1 September :

Katja AFHELDT as Head of Delegation of the European Union to the Dominican Republic. She is currently Head of the EEAS Mexico, Central America and Caribbean Division. She also served as Head of the EEAS Division for Career, Learning and Development.

Paola AMADEI as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Lesotho. She is currently Advisor to the EEAS Managing Director for the Americas. She formerly served as Executive Director of the European Union – Latin America and Caribbean Foundation.

Paolo BERIZZI as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Uruguay. He is currently Head of Delegation of the European Union to Paraguay. He also served as Member of Cabinet of former Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development Neven Mimica.

Gilles BERTRAND as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Colombia. He is currently Chargé d'Affaires of the Delegation of the European Union to Syria. He also served as Head of the EEAS Syria Conference Team.

Douglas CARPENTER as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Central African Republic. He is currently Deputy Head of the EEAS Southern Africa and Indian Ocean Division. He also served as Deputy Head of the EEAS Central Africa and Great Lakes Division.

Dessislava CHOUMELOVA as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Eswatini. She is currently Head of the Demography, Migration and Governance Unit of the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission. She also served as policy officer in the Delegation of the European Union to South Africa.

Javier GARCÍA DE VIEDMA as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Paraguay. He is currently

Spanish Ambassador to Kenya, Somalia and Uganda. He formerly served as Director for United Nations in the Spanish Ministry for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation.

Emanuele GIAUFRET as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Serbia. He is currently Head of Delegation of the European Union to Israel. He also served as Head of the EEAS Division for Democracy and Electoral Observation.

Samuela ISOPI as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Nigeria and Economic community of West African States (ECOWAS). She is currently Head of Delegation of the European Union to Central African Republic. She also served as Italian Ambassador to Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad and Equatorial Guinea.

Kestutis JANKAUSKAS as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Kazakhstan. He is currently Head of Delegation of the European Union to Azerbaijan. He also served as Head of the EU Monitoring Mission in Georgia.

Gwilym JONES as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Mauritania. He is currently Head of Cooperation of the Delegation of the European Union to Niger. He also served as Head of the Brussels Office of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.

Janis MAZEIKS as Head of Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Moldova. He is currently Under-Secretary of State, Political Director in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Latvia. He formerly served as Latvian Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York.

Manuel MUELLER as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Sierra Leone. He is currently German Ambassador to South Sudan. He also served as Deputy Head of Division for Sahel, West and Central Africa in the German Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Axelle NICAISE as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Mongolia. She is currently Head of the Political, Press and Information section of the EU Delegation to Vietnam. She formerly served as Political Officer in the EU Delegation to India and Bhutan.

Iwona PIORKO BERMIG as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Singapore. She is currently Member of Cabinet of the Executive Vice-President of the European Commission Margrethe Vestager. She also served as Member of Cabinet of former High Representative/Vice-President Federica Mogherini.

Irchad RAZAALY as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Ghana. He is currently Head of the EEAS West Africa Division. He also served as Member of Cabinet of the former Commissioner for Development, Andris Piebalgs.

Amador SÁNCHEZ RICO as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Argentina. He is currently Head of the EEAS Strategic Communication, Communications Policy and Public Diplomacy Division. He was formerly posted in Delegations of the European Union to Mexico and to the United Nations in New York.

Dimiter TZANTCHEV as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Israel. He is currently Permanent Representative of Bulgaria to the European Union and formerly served as Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Bulgaria.

Charles WHITELEY as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Bangladesh. He is currently Head of Political, Press and Information section of the Office of the European Union to Hong Kong and Macao and formerly served as Head of Human Rights and Social Affairs in the Delegation of the European Union to the United Nations in New York.

The High Representative also welcomed the **three new EU Special Representatives (EUSR) who were appointed on 21 June by the Council**, following his proposal and took office on 1 July

Emanuela Claudia DEL RE, as EU Special Representative for the Sahel, from 1 July until 30 August 2022.

Terhi HAKALA, as EU Special Representative for Central Asia, from 1 July until 28 February 2023.

Annette WEBER, as EU Special Representative for the Horn of Africa, from 1 July 2021 until 30 August 2022.